Tony Gurr

To “E” or not to “E” – Is that really the question?

In Technology on 14/10/2011 at 3:16 pm

I have been having so much “fun” recently – running around like a headless chicken, talking with “teacher leaders”…and missing high-speed trains!

But, in my “free-time” I’ve also been playing with a topic that I’ll be discussing at an up-coming conference in İstanbul:

To “E” or nor to “E”…

I have not bothered to google this phrase – as I don’t want to be disappointed that some other wise-cracking teacher or “math geek” came up with the phrase before I did (someone probably did nowt is original these days)! Anyways, it doesn’t really matter – because it’s the question that is important and what it leads all those cells in that mass of grey matter to create

Actually, as I’m a bit pushed for time today, I thought I’d do another “lazy post”…and ask for a few comments or ideas on the thoughts below – some of them very well known “quotes”.

When I think about it – it’s not really one of my lazy posts at all – do you know how much time it takes to create one of these “little jpegs”? Seriously…

 

Have a look…

Not sure if I like the way the term “cutting-edge” has been “upgraded“…bit scary!

 

Ahhh, yes – but then a very wise man has reminded us:

 Bit ironic really – do these CALIT2 and HUBO whiz-kids not read, at all?

 

You know I’m a bit of a “film-buff”

Women, too…now, there’s a “thought”!

 

So, where does this leave us? Well, it seems we can’t have a gander at an edublog these days without hearing about:

 

So, this is why so many are saying…

 

But, then again…

Go on – use the comments box! Or, you know the e-mail…..

  1. I could teach you to read using paper and a crayon, and I could to teach you to read using an iPad. Could an iPad teach you to read by itself? Perhaps, but not if you believe reading is about more than decoding letters and sounds.
    I like the the last quote the best. There is more than one way to do anything. Diversity and adaptability are the keys to growth and change.

  2. Hi Heidi – yes, that’s one of my favourites, too. I think it links nicely to what you say about reading – it all depends how you “see” something. The “solution” is very often a result of how you define the “problem”. Thx for the comment – take care. T..

  3. Hi there. Yes, very insightful topic. That last quote also instantly triggered the old idiom in my mind: “There is more than one way to skin a cat.” It is a constant favourite motto by which I live in all aspects of my life.

    • Rudi – as I said, I was actually thinking of how MS “sees” the world with that one 😉

      A lot of “tech” has done it “one” way – so happy to see that is changing. I’m just waiting for Web 5.0…..

      Nice to have met you all in Istanbul.

      Take care. T..

Leave a Reply

