Tony Gurr

What is “Reflective Savvy”?

In ELT and ELL, Quality & Institutional Effectiveness, Teacher Learning on 14/07/2013 at 12:32 pm

REFLECTION (Jack Sparrow GET IT)

I really don’t know why I used the bloody word “savvy so much…

…when talking about allthingsREFLECTION in LEARNing and TEACHing.

8

The thing is…IT is totally the RIGHT word – just a bugger to get across to people that might not have come across it before.

8

One can be everso terribly clever and explain that it comes from the French savoir faire” (even though Google Translate does not, again, do a very good job with it) – but it don’t help, if they ain’t heard of that either.

I actually picked up the term from my dad…growing up in north Manchester, he was the only person I ever heard use it…and he used it a lot (…even “made up” tens/hundreds of more phrases using the word).

Now, you see where I get it from!

8

When I started to learn French, I thought that he might have picked it up because he grew up so close to France (New Haven, near Brightoneven though everyone called him “Cockney Doug”…he never bothered to correct them). That, of course, was silly – New Haven was just as working class as north Manchester – even today, working class kids just not “do” languages very well (clearly…Geography, too)!

It was not until I saw Johnny Depp (as Captain Jack Sparrow) in the movie Pirates of the Carribean that it “clicked

8

NO, my dad was not a pirate!

8

But, he did “fake” his age to get into the Navy and “sign up” for the Second World War…to escape his family and the UK!

You also see where I get that from!

8

Sailors…and pirates…use the term “savvy” a lot. And, so does the Urban Dictionarythank God!

No, I did not write that entry…but I could have, yes?

There’s also a very good story about my dad – involving a boxing match, an officer-who-wasn’t-a-gentleman and a dishonorable discharge (that my dad was VERY proud of)…but, I’ll save that for another post!

8

Of course, I use the word to talk about reflection…or what it “is” about those TEACHers and EDUcators that seem to get more from their students…more for themselves…and more money!

OK – two out of three ain’t bad!

8

REFLECTION 17 (Reflective SAVVY) TG ver 03

8

It’s a Sunday today and I hadn’t planned on writing very much at all for this post!

In factmy big task for today was actually supposed to be more focussed on finally working out exactly where I now live here in big, bad İstanbul! Some people (the phone company…but the internet guy disagrees) tell me I live in Suadiye…other people (the electric company) tell me I live in Erenköy…and then, yesterday, one of my wife’s old friends from Dubai told us we actually live in Şaşkınbakkal (which roughly translates as the “confused grocer”he ain’t alone)!

8

So, I’m going to leave you with a few thunking questions:

8

How “savvy” are you with your own reflective practice?

How do you know this?

What do you do with this “savvy”?

How do these things help you get better at what you do with what you know?

If someone asked you “evidence” this “reflective savvy”, how would you do that?

8

And, as a little Sunday “treat”…some of my favourite thunks on the nature of reflection!

Enjoy…8

REFLECTION 16 (Pearce quote)

8

REFLECTION 15 (Woon quote)

8

REFLECTION 14 (Levithan quote)

8

REFLECTION 13 (Cicero quote)

8

REFLECTION 12 (Confucius quote)

8

REFLECTION 11 (Ronald quote)

8

REFLECTION 10 (Frost quote)

8

REFLECTION 09 (Drucker quote)

8

REFLECTION 08 (Kierkegaard quote)

8

REFLECTION 07 (Rogers quote)

8

REFLECTION 06 (Socrates quote)

8

REFLECTION 05 (Camus quote)

8

REFLECTION 04 (Confucius quote)

8

REFLECTION 03 (Alfadi quote)

8

REFLECTION 02 (Wheatley quote)

8

8

REFLECTION 01 (Wordsworth quote)

8

8

8

REFLECTION (Jack Sparrow GOT IT)

8

Yes, I know that was a bit of a cop-out…but the images/quotes were nice, yes?

8

  1. Tony!

    Just the creative visual reflective ponderings I needed. Thank you!

    PS. Email coming your way soon. Vacation just started and I think my brain has space now. 🙂

    • Coolness – Josette Hocam 😉

      I thought you might like that – doing the series of quotes (in that way) was quite addictive…almost could not stop 😉

      Looking forward to it 😉 BTW – Çağdaş got married a while back…I’ll ask him to reflect on THAT in a couple of weeks 😉

      T..

      P.S: Also waiting for more posts on Parker…got excited when I saw you start that 😉

Leave a Reply

