Tony Gurr

Everybody LIES…

In News & Updates (from the CBO) on 19/06/2013 at 12:00 pm

Everybody lies (House poster)

House…love you to bits!

8

BUT, come on! Everybody?

8

Yes, I know…I know:

Lies damn lies and stats (TG ver 02)

8

Well…I NEVER tell lies! NEVER

8

OK…maybe the odd, little fib…to “protect” others!

8

Damn that blog of mine (ver 02)

8

Or…is my over-sharing, acaba?

8

Last week, I got all excited about getting to my 10,000th tweet:

10000th tweet

…a milestone is a milestone is a milestone!

8

So excited, in fact, that I over-looked an even BIGger numbera BIGger statistic…

8

500K logo

Yes, some time over the next 2-3 days (so the Happiness Engineers at WordPress tell me)…someone (maybe YOU) will become my 500,oooth visitorto the ole blog!

Yes (logo)

I kid you not!

8

So, to CELEBRATE…

I have 3 copies of my favourite books (and, YES…one of them is my OWN…signed by the “other” author)

Adaptation Studies and LEARNing: New Frontiers

8IMG_0419

8

So “tacky”, I know…the other two books are far better!

8

All you have to do is:

1. Add a COMMENT to this post (they will be date and time stamped)

2. Tell me ONE thing you LIKE about the blog…and ONE thing I could LEARN to do better 😉

8Winner 02

You NEVER know…in a couple of days!

88

BTW

8

House…NOT everybody LIES! – Ask my last “winner“…

(You HAVE to “click” on that little, red link…just have to)!

House (poster)

8

Yeah…and YOU, too!

8

  1. Congrats on your milestones! I love the brutal honesty of your blog. The topics are so relevant to the work of learning leaders that it almost seems ironic when a post reflects a challenge that my colleagues and I are facing. This allows us to discuss your work and apply it to some of our current situations.. Sometimes, though, I find myself wishing for classroom and school scenarios to go with the theory in your blog. I know that you want the reader to infer, reflect and fill in the blanks, but sometimes a concrete example or two could help drive a point home.

  2. Hi Tony,

    I really love the way you present your ideas. They’re always very creative and unique. As a novice teacher, I enjoy a lot reading your posts. They help me reflect upon my own teaching and I believe that it’s very important for one’s self-development.
    Hope to meet you one day..

    Thank you again for those beautiful posts..

    • Ama….HOCAM,

      You need to give me ONE thing to improve…to get to “Vegas Week” 😉

      Sevgiyle kalın…sevgili hocam!

      T..

      • Hmmm..

        That’s really difficult!! 😮

        But I’m going to tell you something that you already know 🙂 Some of your posts are too long..

        Although I enjoy reading them, at the end I feel like I’m lost. I go back and read it again to understand it completely.. Maybe it’s because I always read them very early in the morning 🙂 I don’t know..

        This is the first and only thing that comes to my mind..

        🙂

      • Hocam,

        I am SHOCKED…U R the 1st person EVER to say that…broken heated, I iz ;-(

        LOL…yes, that’s the spirit…hocam 😉

        LOVE it, LOVE it!

        T..

      • Really? I remember that one of your posts had 5 very long parts and it took me hours to finish it. I’m very careful about the details, maybe that’s the reason 🙂

      • Hocam,

        JOKING…I hear this all the time…tis just “me” or the way I “thunk”…BUT, I know…ask my wife…my toughest critic (after Çağla Hanım…my daughter…Oh, and Dexter…”my son”) 😉

        It’s tough to “fix” this – being honest here… – sometimes, it’s just me “venting” 😉

        T..

  3. Actually Dear Tony,

    You’ve set milestones in my life by inspiring me and helping me find the real “I”.

    A good mentor, facilitator, etc. must be like you, thanks for all the things you taught us about being a good teacher;)

  4. Hello Tony.

    One of the things I love about your blog is the way you present your thoughts. The eye-catching and humorous pictures and your witty comments make it really fun to read your posts, so I don’t ever get bored while I’m reading no matter how long it is.

    Another thing you’re really good at is making me consider different issues, reflect on my actions, ideas and values by always asking the right questions.

    So please go on doing what you do 🙂

    Thanks a bunch for everything 🙂

    • Asena Hocam,

      TYSM 4 this 😉

      …BUT, you do know, Yes? …That you have to help me LEARN something to fully “qualify”…otherwise (and if you “win”), you just get MY BOOK 😉

      T..

  5. Haha I can’t resist a chance to throw my hat in a ring. You’ll recognize it right away – it’s a Chicago baseball cap.

    One thing (out of the many) that I like about your blog are the images.

    One thing that I struggle with is learning Turkish from google translate – it’s just not sticking. There’s got to be another way!

    Thanks for all the thinkings and learnings and reading material – it’s great to see you blogging again.

    • Anne,

      Yes, I’d know that cap anywhere 😉 You are so right – and I struggled with the whole Turkish thing. I think it’s great to throw a bit of local culture and language into a blog…Google Teanslate was the best way to do it (without killing myself with embedded pop-ups or sound files). I’ve written to their customer service team several times 😉

      TY for the kind words about the images 😉 …they take so long to do (sometimes)! Hey, you never know…the last winner (the 100K winner) was from South Africa 😉

      Fingers crossed – take care.

      T..

  6. ONE thing you DO, well, is punctuate. (ahem.) And your images are always SPOT on. Not sure if I ALWAYS like your CAPitalization, but it does make me feel like I HEAR your voice AS I read. Sometimes makes me larf out loud, even. Dunno if I always get the correct emPHAsis on the right syLAble, tho.
    Your Thunks are always pointed and entertaining, too. Yeah, and HUGH, too!

  7. Well, I’ve come back to disagree about capitalization. I love the way you play with language, both visually and lexically. And just to keep my hat in the ring (the chicago baseball cap, remember), I’ll add another time where I didn’t connect to what you were saying. I had a devil of a time figuring out the uncover the curriculum series.

    • Anne,

      Now, that will get you some extra brownie points 😉

      Yes, have to admit that mini-dizi was a soundbite whose ambition out-weighed his ability 😉 Still re-working that one 😉

      T..

Leave a Reply

