Tony Gurr

FIXing Hazırlık… (Pt 03 of 03)

In Adult Learners, Educational Leadership, ELT and ELL, Our Universities, Quality & Institutional Effectiveness on 25/05/2013 at 1:53 pm

But TONY

Come on, guys! Give me a break…for crying out loud!

8

I had wanted to stick with Arthur – but my in-box overfloweth…and not with stuff that I can repeat on this blog (my daughter still reads the posts…from time to time…when I ‘bribe’ her or drop a subtle hint that I have been gossiping about her…again)!

I mean…what the Eternal Example tells us is just goldengolden advice from a golden bloke:

The ARTHUR TEST

8

What Nikos Amca tells us about the need to create a ‘community of purpose‘ is ‘golden’:

Purpose 1 (Mourkogiannis quote)

…not to mention, a moral imperative, if we (really) want to do something about the ‘rust’ that has been building up on the hull of the ‘good ship hazırlık’ over the past few years…

8

And, what about Peter Block? Those wonderful questions…of his…

YES (red exlam tilted)

…this is what WE need in OUR hazırlık…in ELL Prep Schools across the globe!

8

Innit?

8

What do you mean…

NO

…you want ‘what’…WHAT?

8

Practical advice?

Tips n’ hintsyou can use on Monday morning?

Best practices?

8

Al buna!

OK…that was a bit rude of me!

…guess I’ll be dining with Hannibal tonight!

8

So, I sat down with some of me mates…and we came up with a few ideas…for you all.

Dummies (fixing hazırlık))

…NO, this does NOT mean you are ‘dummies’ – some of you are soooooo sensitive!

8

OK – first off:

Improvement advice 01

Got that? Easy…yes?

8

Then,

Improvement advice 02

All good…out there?

8

Oh, yes…don’t forget:

Improvement advice 03

What? You want more…?

8

OK – you asked for it:

Improvement advice 06

Now, there’s one that can go on everyone’s list!

8

Next…and read this one carefully:

Improvement advice 05

I said…’carefully’!

8

A few more?…you guys are ‘good’…bloody good:

Improvement advice 04

8

More?

Improvement advice 09

…gotta get us some of those ‘handbooks’! Now, how do I Google…

8

What about…these three?

Improvement advice 10

This little lot should keep us busy…till Thursday!

8

And…on Friday…we can have a stab at this one:

Improvement advice 07

8

Whoopsie-daisies…I forgot this one – the ‘bestest practice’ of all:

8

Improvement advice 08

8

That’s how WE  fix OUR  hazırlık programmes, yes?

ID Card

Türküz…Doğruyuz……Çalışkanız…

8

Me thunks…I need a post-script!

8

  1. I will offer a famous quote from screenwriter Billy Wilder on this piece — there are too many words.

    • Laurence (the spelling is “correct”,yes?),

      Thank God for that…I thought you were gonna use his other quote: “There are too many IMAGES” 😉

      OK – time for a “real comment”, my friend…I need to borrow some thunks for the “post-script” 😉

      Be good – be safe 😉

      T..

  2. As Simon used to say, “Saucer of milk over here, please!”

Leave a Reply

