Tony Gurr

When Spoon-feeding the “Kids” is NOT Enough… (not a RE-boot)!

In Adult Educators, ELT and ELL, Teacher Learning, Teacher Training, The Paradigm Debate on 09/07/2013 at 11:53 am

Spoonfeeding TEACHers 02

8

This was a question a very irate TEACHer-cum-PARENT asked me the other week. She was, of course, talking about LEARNing our kids to feed themselves.

“They are turning my kid into a little test-drone” – she told me. Here, she was talking about her child’s school…and, probably, she wasn’t far wrong.

8

Most of our schools are firmly grounded on 4 ways of “doing business”:

Spoonfeeding TEACHers 03

8

Yeah…sorry about that – but, if it’s any consolation, that little image up there took me ages to do…guess I was making up for that last, imagesiz blog post I did.

8

I don’t want to get into all of them - one-by-one – and, besides, most of you know what I thunks:

LEARNing (cannot be delivered) Ver 02

8

You also know…in your heart-of-hearts that:

High Grades and LEARNers (Wiggins quote)

8

I do not really care how many practice books, online resources, mock tests, or so-called “extra-curriculuar” tutoring sessions a school offers its kids…if these materials or opportunities are of the just-in-case, EXAMocracy type (rather than the just-in-time, LEARNing type) – the result is the same.

Pigeon holes (even of the “multiple intelligence variety”) are too small for our kids!

Hey, I did manage to cover them all!

8

Twilight Zone 01b (TG edit).jpg

However, the story did not stop there.

I got a call from one of the “team” at the school (where my friend sends her kid) – quite by co-incidence.

They wanted me to to come to their school at the end of August and…wait for it…. “deliver a lecture” to their TEACHers…a 60-minute lecture, no less / no more (because, I was told, TEACHers cannot focus for more than 50-60 minutes) on….wait for it… “creativity with the new textbooks they have adopted” .

Do they not know me…at all?

8

HULK (keep calm TG Ver)

8

To add insult to injury…they also asked me if I knew any other native-speakers that would be prepared to come a give a 60-minute session on…and this was the killer… “any topic they wanted!

8

The SECRET (Expletive)

8

Now, I’m not going to get into the whole “NS vs. NNS TEACHer thingy” (though I would really love toI would)! But, it’s worth exploring some of the the other underlying assumptions…behind this seemingly simple request.

8

There are many schools (and universities, too) out there that are basically looking for a way to “fill up” the Summer schedules of their TEACHers…called back to work far too early…when nothing of much value has been planned.

Now, I’m not saying this is the case here…Vallahi Billahi…(yep, Google Translate still sucks!) – but the request “smelled” of something…something very fishy!

Balik bastan kokar (TR ver)

8

Why would a school want to invite a speaker or trainer to “do” a session on “anything they wanted” ?

Thunk about that for a minute…

8

Even worse…why (oh, bloody why) would they want someone to come and deliver a lecture on a topic area or theme that is clearly so grounded on critical thunking, classroom practice and collaborative co-creation?

We’re talking about “creativity“, guys – not exam prep classes!

Duh (TG ver 4 blog)

8

Now, call me old-fashioneddoesn’t happen very often…but I’m OK with it.

I’ve always believed that:

8

The ART of TEACHing (van Doren quote) Ver 02

8

…it just makes sense that TEACHer LEARNing (TRAINing, even – though I do prefer my other term), should follow the same principle…similar processes.

You know, all that stuff about “walking-our-talk” and “being the change we want to see in the classroom” -

posing and answering questions together,

working stuff out together,

solving real problemsTOGETHER!

8

Motivation (the CHALLENGE)

8

But, then again, maybe some schools just feel it’s easier to “manage” their TEACHers…when they manage their “diet”, too!

8

Feeding our TEACHers is important…

8

The problem is, however, that wonderful advice that Neila Hocam (yes, click on that link – it is a “real” book) gives us:

8

If you dont feed the TEACHers (Connors quote) Ver 02

8

…is also dependent on the “type of food” we make available to our TEACHers!

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,132 other followers

